Running 2 Win

Running2Win - forums

Topic: Necessity To Be In Caloric Deficit?

[Posted 12/20/2016 2:37:02 AM]  Necessity To Be In Caloric Deficit?

[Spencer_Sprague]

Total posts: 20
Registered member.
Registered member.

Hi Running2Win,

I'm a 16-year old sophomore and I want to do well for Track (specifically the 800 meters, it's what I've been able to outshine others in). Anyways, I've been staying a lot more consistent with my mileage which is a good thing, and I've been doing 2-3 weightlifting sessions a week, but I haven't really been losing the last 10 pounds of fat that I've been carrying around with me. I am still a fast runner, but I know I could just be a lot better if I could rid myself of the last bit of belly fat that's holding me back from being my best.

So I've begun to go into a caloric deficit for about a week now, and I've already lost about 6-7 pounds but I feel like most of it is from water retention. I haven't felt weak or seen my muscles begin to deteriorate at all (which if I do I will stop this method of eating), but I haven't really seen my fatty-areas go down either. 

My question is, what is going to burn the last bits of fat? I'm not eating bad, I'm working out, and for the most part getting good enough sleep. Will a caloric deficit help? Before this I would usually eat around 2,600 calories a day, right now I'm eating 1,800-2,000 a day but I still feel okay. Anyways, anyone that is credible in this field, I would love your input. Thank you very much! 

Reply (you need to log in to reply)

[Posted 12/21/2016 6:16:45 PM]  Necessity To Be In Caloric Deficit?

[Matt Goddard23]

Total posts: 5
Registered member.
Registered member.

Hey buddy, I know exactly where you are at right now. I was in the same shoes as you my Freshman and Sophomore year.